Sitcoms: Life Lessons and Juicy Topics

Sitcoms of the 90s were in great taste. They made us all laugh while cohesively teaching us life lessons that we ended up taking with us throughout our lives. This post will discuss a few of the popular 90s sitcoms that were aired during the 90s.

Family Matters

Image result for steve urkel

Now if some of you are like me, I watched Family Matters throughout my entire childhood and didn’t even know the name of the show until I was midway through my teens. Most people associate Family Matters with the famous Steve Urkel. Family Matters is about an African American middle class family that live in Chicago, Illinois. The series was originally supposed to focus around the father Carl Winslow who worked as a police officer and his family. Supporting characters included his wife Harriette, son Eddie, elder daughter Laura and younger daughter Judy until she was later written out in the fourth season. The show also started with Urkel the annoying and nerdy but yet sweet and kindhearted neighbor being only a reoccurring character until they saw how high the ratings were for episodes with Urkel in them. By the second season of Family Matters Steve Urkle, played by Jaleel white, became a main character as well as the focus in most episodes. Family Matters discussed love problems, school issues and family health. I think that this show did a good job of incorporating comedy and maintaining the seriousness of the episode without loosing the fun.

Ellen

Image result for ellen series

Ellen aired on CBS from 1994-1998. Ellen DeGeneres played Ellen Morgan who is a bookstore owner in her thirties. Ellen’s supporting characters including her roommate Adam, and her other friends Paige and Holly. Ellen had such a big impact on the 90s because Ellen came out on the show that she was a lesbian as her character and in real life in the episode titled The Puppy Episode. This was one of the series that had a notable main character come out. After the episode aired there was tons of media exposure as well as controversy. The network had to place a parental advisory at the beginning of each episode.

The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air

Sing Along!

“Now this is a story all about how
My life got flipped-turned upside down
And I’d like to take a minute
Just sit right there
I’ll tell you how I became the prince of a town called Bel-Air

In west Philadelphia born and raised
On the playground was where I spent most of my days
Chillin’ out maxin’ relaxin’ all cool
And all shooting some b-ball outside of the school
When a couple of guys who were up to no good
Started making trouble in my neighborhood
I got in one little fight and my mom got scared
She said, “You’re movin’ with your auntie and uncle in Bel-Air”

I whistled for a cab and when it came near
The license plate said “Fresh” and it had dice in the mirror
If anything I could say that this cab was rare
But I thought, “Nah, forget it.”
– “Yo, home to Bel-Air.”

I pulled up to the house about 7 or 8

And I yelled to the cabbie, “Yo home smell ya later.”
I looked at my kingdom
I was finally there
To sit on my throne as the Prince of Bel-Air

Image result for fresh prince of bel air

This had to be one of the most iconic sitcom theme songs of the 90s. Will Smith plays himself as a young teenager from Philadelphia that moves in with his wealthier side of his mother’s family. The main cast included Uncle Phil, Aunt Viv and Will’s cousins Carlton, Hillary and Ashley as well as the butler Jeffery. The show was hilarious and expressed its comedic relief through Will and Carlton’s feud, and Will’s constant jokes about his uncles weight and the rest of the families flaws, of course all in good taste.

Leave a Reply

